Katy Runs

Running to stay sane in grad school!

New shoes September 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — katyruns @ 6:27 pm

I got new shoes!  And I’ve ran 22 miles in them so far.

Last Saturday (over Labor Day) I ran in the Aliferis Memorial half marathon in Alpena, MI.  I PR’ed too.  I finished in 2:04:31-ish.  I also tacked 2 miles on before and 1 mile after in order to meet my 16 mile training plan goal.  That Saturday was cold and overcast.  I was worried it was going to rain but it held off until the afternoon. My legs were pretty sore on Saturday but I felt normal by Sunday.  Must have been the turkey dinner my mom made for lunch after the race (my mom and dad did the 18.5 mile bike ride and my older brother ran the 5K).

I took a running hiatus until Thursday due to busy-ness for work and school.

Thursday I ran 60 minutes (6.06mi) after work.  The weather was perfect.  Mid-70s and overcast.  Unfortunately my new shoes started bothering me.  The side of the shoe kept rubbing on my right ankle bone.  I’m going for a run later today and again tomorrow.  I’m wearing taller and thicker socks.  So we’ll see if that helps.  If not, I’m going to have to take the shoes back to the store.  I don’t think it is right to pay $100 and not have the shoes fit comfortably.  But I’m having an ethical pull that I’ll have put over 30 miles on them.

Last Thursday (before Labor day weekend) I went on an early morning run from my lab into Oakland to drop off some library books.  I then took a jaunt into Schenely Park.  Here are some phone pictures that I took on my run.

This pond/spring was NOT dried up less than two years ago.  I’m glad the city of Pittsburgh is planning to restore it.  It made me sad to see it in this state.

Phipps Conservatory

Cathedral of Learning
Be back later with my run recap!
 

Leave a comment